SA Ladies at 2017 Lalla Meryem Cup Morocco

The 2017 Lalla Meryem Cup is being played at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat, Morocco from 13 – 16 April. This amazing event is hosted by His Majesty King Mohammed VI with a prize purse of €450,000-00.

Marie-Laure de Lorenzi won the first Lalla Meryem Cup in 1993. It has been played every year since other than 2004. The 2016 champion was Nuria Iturrios of Spain on 11 under par. This win saw her take home a cheque of €67,500-00. She joined the list of outstanding past champions such as Laura Davies (2008), Gwladys Nocera (2007;2015) and Charley Hull (2014).

Stacy Lee Bergman SunShine Ladies Tour Player
Photo by: Catherine Kotze/SASPA

Last year two out of four South Africans who were playing made the cut. This year we see South Africans Stacy Lee Bergman, Nicole Garcia, Laurette Maritz and Connie Chen competing for the overall trophy.

Stacy Lee Bergman is due for a good result, the kind of form she showed in 2015 on the SunShine Ladies Tour when she bagged three titles in one breathe.

Nicole Garcia Sunshine Ladies Tour Player
photo by: Catherine Kotze / SASPA

Nicole Garcia would like to see a repeat of her form she displayed at the Qatar Ladies Open 2016  where she finished 6th and has since been her best result internationally.

Link for all the scores and highlights  2017 Lalla Meryem Cup 

Writtern by Michelle Leigh

PinkStig Pro and Media Liason Sun PinkStig Series

Leave a Reply