Lucky Miya Powertraveller 4 Peaks Mountain Challenge Winner

Debutante Powertraveller 4 Peaks Mountain Challenge presented by the Bloemfontein Courant trail runner, Lucky Miya, took advantage of the perfect weather conditions at today’s race to beat Ryan Sandes previously set record by almost a minute in a time of 2hrs40min30sec. He was followed by Chabedi Nyedimane in 2nd position in a time of 2hrs41min23sec and local farmer Sampie Makoekoe in 3rd position in 2hrs47min17sec. 

“We are delighted that novice runner, Lucky Miya, has won this year’s race, in a new record time,” says Race Director, Michael de Haast from Pure Adventures. “Conditions today have been great for the top runners, but the back markers might find it a bit hot later on!”

 Estie Szoke
Estie Szoke

The first lady over the finish line was Estie Szoke in a time of 3hrs56min58sec. She was followed by Jeanne Havinga in 2nd position in a time of 04hrs16min30sec and Rizta Fouche in 3rd position in a time of 04hrs17min39sec. 

Dubbed as the toughest 24km trail race in South Africa with a vertical accent of over 1800m, the race takes place on the picturesque Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve. The terrain is definitely not for the faint of heart and good preparation is a must.  Four very distinctive peaks make up the race as one circle around the Moolmanshoek valley. 

Lucky Miya
Lucky Miya

The route is not marked, but is very easy to traverse with marshals and very clear signage at key places.  There are some very steep sections along the route that need to be navigated with the two toughest places being behind Jakobsberg and Visierskerf.  4 Peaks is a completely unsupported race, meaning that all athletes will need to carry everything they will need for the race on their person. 

For more information on the race and to find out how you can enter next year’s event, please visit Follow the race live on Facebook on @4PeaksMountainChallenge 

 Leading Men Positions

1.            Lucky Miya                          2hrs40min30sec

2.            Chabedi Nyedimane       2hrs41min23sec

3.            Sampie Makoekoe          2hrs47min17sec

Leading Women Positions

1.            Estie Szoke                         3hrs56min58sec

2.            Jeanne Havinga              04hrs16min30sec

3.            Rizta Fouche                      04hrs17min39sec

Pic Credits – Craig Kolesky/ Nikon/ Lexar


Leave a Reply